Movie Review: Transformers 2 Revenge Of The Fallen


I don’t think this was a real poster for the movie… but it made me laugh!

Rated PG-13

Starring: Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox, Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson, John Turturro, a bunch of robots

150 minutes!!

Currently available to rent

It’s not the excellent dialogue, script or character building that will get you to rent Transformers.  Quite simply, I rented Transformers because it

  1. Has Megan Fox in it.
  2. Made the most money at the box office last summer.
  3. Has giant explosions.
  4. Has Megan Fox in it.
  5. Has awesome special effects that would have caused brain hemorrhages to viewers 100 years ago.
  6. Has giant robots that somehow transform into much smaller, sleek looking cars, jet planes, bulldozers, remote control cars, semis and (didn’t see this one coming) college students (?).
  7. What else… oh yeah… it has Megan Fox in it.

There are quite simply those movies out there that you go see strictly for entertainment value.  At certain points in the movie I would catch myself going, “Now… how did that happen?  They just transported halfway across the world?  The Autobots and Decepticons just destroyed half that cities highway system… how does the government cover that up?  How did… oh wait… I forgot that I’m watching Transformers.  Not ‘Gone With the Wind’.” 

T2 jumps down so many rabbit holes you come away from it with a lot of unanswered questions.  Too many in fact for a 2 ½ hour movie.

“But what’s wrong with that?” you might ask me.

“Absolutely nothing.” I would reply.

There is a reason that this movie made eight trillion dollars at the box office (see above).  If you want to think, reflect or cry… rent movies like Memento, Flight 93, or Marley and Me respectively.  If you want to sink into the couch with a sack of popcorn and relax all the muscles in your body to a point where drool uncontrollably spills from the corners of your mouth… then rent Transformers 2.

Even though the Transformers movies main draw are the fantastic special effects… the actors aren’t horrible… they simply don’t have enough lines to bust their acting chops. 

Shia LaBeouf is one again the funny and fast talking Sam Witwicky (coolest fake last name ever).  I like Shia (dumbest real name ever).  He has proven to me that he can act in movies like “Eagle Eye” and “Disturbia”.  I like his acting style and although he seems like he could probably be a tremendous douchbag in real life… I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt on this one.

Megan Fox reprises her role as Mikaela Banes… the role that made her super famous.  Despite all the negativity that she gets in the media for her smart mouth and stuck-upivness (yes mom… I know that’s not a word) she is quickly ascending the ranks as my favorite “it” girl… replacing the highly intelligent Kim Kardashian (although the rest of her family can be shot into space for all I care).  She’s not a bad actor… but she’s not going to be winning an Oscar any time soon.  She sure is nice to look at though.

Megan Fox… good actor or pretty much the whole reason T2 made 8 trillion dollars?  I’m going with the latter.

Next to the computer generated robots… all the other actors are pretty secondary seeing that most of their lines are either said for comic relief or screamed over the sound of a bomb going off, entire cities screaming in horror or that weird “Wei ah wei eh ah” noise that happens every time a robot changes into car/semi/jet plane/motorcycle/remote control big wheel or vice versa.

So, weighing everything that I’ve said here and because I too like explosions, robots, special effects and Megan Fox… I give T2 a handsome 4 out of 5 total raging idiots:

4 responses to “Movie Review: Transformers 2 Revenge Of The Fallen

  1. Love the raging idiots..the best part. I must admit your review was pretty entertaining this time! Love you honey, keep up the good work

  2. Ha ha, best post yet.

  3. I hear you loud and clear and I respect that you said you liked T-FORMERS despite it not making any sense. If I may, can I offer a rebuttal?

    I can? Good.

    Megan Fox is hot. Yes. The movie benefits from having her in it. Shia is also good and looks like he’s bringing his A game to a very B movie.

    But I don’t subscribe to the theory that just cause it ain’t high art that it shouldn’t have to be coherent. Movies like this are lazy and insult our intelligence. Why not put in a little extra effort to have a story that makes sense?

    And yes, the effects are great. But the movie is shot in Michael Bay’s now signature style where everything is shot in close up and the camera moves around so much that it’s impossible to tell what’s going on. Again, lazy. You don’t have to choreograph a fight if you don’t need to make it clear.

    Compare the T-FORM movies with IRON MAN or STAR TREK or even AVATAR (which had a simple story, but at least one that made sense).

    But at the very least, they have Megan Fox.

    I am now stepping off my soap box. Thanks for letting me vomit all over your blog. (Like you had a choice!)

Leave a Reply

