My Challenge To Myself


I’m no Leo Tolstoy (he wrote War and Peace… I had to look that up) but I think I’m getting better at this writing stuff.  I’ve been blogging and writing for a little over a year and a half now (between Hands to War and Virtual Hugs) and like most things… the continual repetition of doing the “same ol’ thing” gets a little stale.  Just like your sex life… sometimes you gotta spice it up!

I’m also the competitive type and enjoy a good challenge.

So I’m going to do a little bit of both.

To break the repetition (or at least I feel like it’s repetitious) of my normal posts where I write whatever crap comes to my head that day… I’m going to plant a link at the end of each post guiding you to a blog that I frequent.  I’ve made a few friends in the blogosphere and a few acquaintances and perhaps a few people who have no idea who I am or care to know who I am but I still like their stuff anyway.  This month, it’s all about sharing the love of my (6) readers to my BB’s (otherwise known as “Bloggy Buddies”… I just made that up).

As far as quenching my need for competition I’m going to try to write a post for every single day of the month (that’s 30) so by the end of June I’ll have posted every day this month.  Hopefully, if I’m able to accomplish this “30 posts in 30 days” challenge, I’ll also reel in my 1000th comment on Hands To War.

There may be some days where the post may not be that long… but there will be something there dammit.

Being a writer is something that is fairly new to me but I think it’s in my blood.  If I can challenge myself to come up with new material every day for a month… then I think it’s something I can prove to myself I can do.

Wish me luck!

Oh… and comment… I feed off them.  Feel free to suggest something for me to write about… I’d be happy to consider anything!

11 responses to “My Challenge To Myself

  1. You can do it! And I look forward to reading, although I have no suggestions cuz I’m a bit dry myself lately in the writing arena.

  2. You should totally do a post (or have Bunny do a guest post) about DLG’s birth. 🙂 It’s always nice to hear the “man” point of view. (And that whole midwife thing means I eat up birth stories.)

  3. Every few weeks I spot another guy write about how they think we dads are being shut out by the baby prodcut companies and family magazines. Here are two recent examples. http://www.bloggerfather.com/2009/07/playtex-designed-for-mom.html, and here, http://clarkkentslunchbox.blogspot.com/2010/04/dad-bloggers-can-suck-it.html. You can write about that. What do you think about what those guys are syaing? Not that we really care, but you asked for something:)

    • chriskoenig4324

      Hey brother… thanks for the comment. I read both these guys and I think that’s a great idea for me to write about that. Love your blog by the way… very chill and cool.

  4. Pingback: A Place To Be Me « Hands To War

  5. I promise to read them all, but perhaps not comment on them all.

  6. I started May 26th 2009 with the intention of amassing enough content to then be able to slow down. I figured I would write every other day and see how it went. What actually wound up happening is that I’ve not missed a single day of blogging for a little more than 365 days. I went the first month and it was really hard to keep thinking of original stuff to say. Then it all seemed to get easier, suddenly and unexpectedly. It seems the more you write the easier it gets. I have a very distinct feeling that after this month you’re not going to have any problem thinking of stuff to say. I think the experience is going to wire your brain to think “Writing, writing, writing.” That’s what happened to me and I think it would happen to anybody who either intentionally or unintentionally devotes themselves to it. good luck to you, sir!

    • chriskoenig4324

      Thanks for the encouragement Keith! That means alot coming from a “super blogger” like yourself!

    • chriskoenig4324

      Oh and 365 days without missing a blog post… that’s gotta be a record or something…

  7. Good luck on completing your challenge at the end of the month. I’m also doing the blog every day of June challenge. So far no missed posts \o/

  8. Good I have been writing every day since 2005. keep up the good work you all. I am not a known blogger I just write in my journal every day. I hope to become a blogger as well. and like to meet the challenge.

Leave a Reply

