My Heart Aches


I had something lighthearted in store for you tonight but it seems that there’s been a little issue requiring a bit more of my concentration at the moment.

The angel who gave me life, also known as my mother, wound up in the emergency room tonight back in my home town.  When I was a much younger boy and my mom would travel out of town (that wasn’t very often), I would cry myself to sleep in fear that I’d never see her again because “something would happen”.  I see this now being the precursor to many of the fears I have in being a father but nonetheless to get a phone call like I did tonight from my sister will do nothing short but momentarily take your breath away.

She appears at this moment to be fine and will be fine but it was a scary moment nonetheless.  If you get a chance, she could use a few prayers directed her way.

If you look hard enough… you can see that halo (on her… not me).  I thank God every day for her.

8 responses to “My Heart Aches

  1. I can’t believe you found time to post about this tonight. That’s not a criticism, there is not a whole lot to do while waiting for tests other than worry. I’m glad that you were able to post something about it, and that you called us to let us know what was going on. I am SO glad she’s OK, and that you and Pam and Jenni are there to take care of her. You all will take excellent care of her, and she’ll appreciate the pampering, for sure. I hope that your heart recovers soon, when she’s all better, you can fall apart and be grateful it was a stomach bug (though I know you’re grateful for that already). Hang in there, Chris. Give her love from us, since we can’t be there in person.

  2. Keep your head up Chris, I know exactly how you feel. My Grandfather passing away in HS was the toughest thing Ive ever dealt with, I fear all the time that my parents or my Grandmother will get sick.

    Im glad she seems to be ok and I will say a prayer for your Mom!

  3. Hey man, I’m sorry to hear about your mom. I know that I would feel the same way in that situation. I’m keeping you, your family and your mom in my thoughts and prayers. I know we’re just “bloggy buddies” but if you need anything please feel free to let me know.

    Just one other thing, in times like this it’s easy to forget about your own wellbeing – take care of yourself, you have a beautiful wife and an amazing daughter depending on you.

  4. Chris, just knowing your mom from reading her posts here, I can tell she is an angel. Thanks in part to you and Min being such a great example of a Christian life…I will pray hard for your precious mommy!

  5. sorry to hear about ur mom. i am positive she will be prefect again soon. i agree with tony, you have to take care of your self to take care of other. it is a horrable time when the roles reverse from your parents worried about you and taking care of you to you worring and taking care of your parents. iv been there and had the scares from both parents, hang in there chris.

  6. I’m so sorry. I hope she gets better quickly. She is beautiful. Great picture of you two.

  7. Coming in a bit late here, but my best to you all and your mother. I really hope she is all right.

  8. You both look very proud. I wish everyone strength.

Leave a Reply

