Does Your Baby Have Pierced Ears? Why Not A Tattoo?


I’m actually guest posting over at Almighty Dad today.

The post is about my seething irritation at how some parents get their newborn’s ears pierced mere seconds after cutting the umbilical cord.

I went a step further and let DLG get her first tattoo the other day.

Read about it over at Almighty Dad.

Or click his cool little caricature of himself:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

13 responses to “Does Your Baby Have Pierced Ears? Why Not A Tattoo?

  1. Haven’t read it yet – but I share your frustration at getting babies ears pierced. Makes me seethe as well.

  2. It was great having you today! Thanks for the Fantastic Article!

  3. Finally had a chance to read it and just wanted to say I love your pink band-aid in the picture! Ha ha! Made me laugh only because I bought my son Toy Story Band-Aids and I believe I’ve used the majority of them! Thats the fun of being a parent…you can say to your co-workers, “yeah, only had Toy Story band aids in the house due to the kids” when inside you’re really thinking “I HAVE A TOY STORY BAND-AID!! WOOHOO!”

  4. I will so meet you in the Wal-Mart parking lot and have a fist fight… I really hope those are fake tattoos… you don’t give your child fucking tattos at that age are you fucking mental!!??? What’s next she wants a shot of fucking herion your going to give it to her??!?!? Kids ask for shit that they see doesn’t mean you give it to them!! WHat kind of mother are you!! In my opinion your a fucking slum of a mother that should be shot!!! Seriously meet up so I can kick the dog shit out of your face!!!!

    • Wow Dani you are completely mental. You should change your email to completelyinsanedani01@yahoo.com

      First of all… it’s called creative sarcasm. Look it up. If you really believe I’d tattoo an arm sleeve on my two-year old daughter then, I’m sorry, but you’re a complete and total idiot.

      Second of all I’m not a mother… I’m a father. I would think that would be obvious based on the fact that my domain name is “Who Is Papa K” but then again you actually seemed to confuse humor and sarcasm with reality so it doesn’t escape me that you’d be confused of my gender as well.

      Thirdly… I don’t punch girls, but I’d be happy to meet you in the Wal-Mart parking lot just to take a look at you because by the way it sounds you’re a perfect candidate for http://www.peopleofwalmart.com.

    • I can’t even believe you thought he was serious. I mean REALLY!?!? WOW!

    • Dani, you either didn’t read the post carefully or sarcasm is lost on you. Chill out a little and try again. But, then again, if you’re intentionally trolling — well, well played! 🙂

  5. Ok Papa K….you need to fess up. You stay at home with your daughter, your “wife” works and makes all the money, and you let your kid get a tattoo (pushover!) – let’s face it: You are a MOM!! You don’t have a penis! The reason your “wife” didn’t breastfeed DLG is because *YOU* did with your big ol’ mama boobs!!

    Geez.

  6. I’m just going to say, dani is an idiot. Enough said.

  7. I got my ears pierced at 2 and have no problem with it. I don’t know if we will with a baby or not. I’m fine with it because it grows in if you don’t want them.

    My cousin was born in Spain, as her dad is in the Air Force. Because she was born in a Spanish hospital, it’s actually their policy to pierce female babies’ ears not long after birth. In that case, it’s a cultural choice, just as it often is with many families.

    To me, parents make many decisions that might or might not harm their child later. [Vaccinations, disciplinary tactics, spoiling, etc.] This is another one, and it’s the business of the family. Their child is the one who has the right to be angry as they get older for not being given the choice.

  8. And I will say that while I’m a fan of this blog, I find it sad that there isn’t a day that goes by in which I don’t read an adult calling another adult a name. Dani, you are so far out of line it’s impossible to know where to begin. I cuss way too much, but I know when to do it, and I am proud to say I haven’t lost my temper in years. You essentially showed no class.

    And while she showed no class, I hardly think the adult thing to do is call her an “idiot” or any other name.

    It continues to surprise me that so many people in general are surprised by the amount of bullying that goes on in schools and on playgrounds. We can’t even read/write/enjoy a blog without reducing it to name calling, profanity, and insults.

    • Indeed, you are right Stephanie, calling her an “idiot” perhaps wasn’t the high road to take… but sometimes I just can’t help myself. I’ll retract the “idiot” comment and replace it with “silly gilly gumdrop”. 🙂

      Thanks for continuing to read my stuff Stephanie and letting me know when perhaps even I have gone a little too far.

  9. I am kind of taken aback by your comment Stephanie that pierced ears at a young age are fine because they’ll grow back if you don’t want them.

    I agree that there are many, many decisions parents make for children that may or may not harm them later. The problem I have with this particular choice is it is simply done so the child “looks cute”. Seriously. There is no “good” coming out of this extremely painful procedure. I cannot imagine a baby simply sleeping through this or not noticing the pain. It’s silly, especially when it is done purely for vanity on the parents’ part. No baby is thinking, gee I sure wish my ears were pierced.

    My 2 cents. Again.

    (P.S. Before you repeat the part about Spanish culture, please know that I am Puerto Rican, descended from Spain, 1st generation US born in my family. I respect cultural beliefs and customs BUT not when they are practiced at the painful expense of babies and children (like genial mutation for example).

Leave a Reply

