If I Could Bottle This Up


Back when I was a 12-year-old socially inept homeschooled kid (by my own accord… had to throw that in or my mom would take me out of the will), the only music I was subjected to was that of my mothers which consisted of mostly Christian music, some Billy Joel and more Christian music.  Also, there were some left over cassette mix-tapes belonging to my siblings which consisted of some Michael Jackson, A-Ha and Wham!

Me and my 12th birthday pie.  Yes… pie.  I loved pie.  Back off… I was a strange kid.

While I stowed away in my house in the country devoid of many friends and neighbors, I was completely void of knowing any words to anyMC Hammer (although… I DID own a small stock in Hammer Pants at the time), Sir-Mix-Alot, Vanilla Ice or Nirvana song.  Rather, I knew all the words to many songs by such Christian groups like The Imperials, Carmen or DC Talk.  Due to my sisters extreme fascination in the lead singer for “A-Ha” I also knew all the words to their one hit “Take On Me”.

“I’ll be gooooooone… in a day or twooooooooooooo!!!”  Really good video BTW.

Anyway, there was one casette tape that my mom had by this country singer named Paul Overstreet.  He wasn’t necessarily a “Christian” artist per se but he sang about a lot of lovey dovey things, good family values and the like.  Being a “young man”, rocketing through all various stages of puberty at the time, I picked up on one of Pauls song that I thought was particularly romantic.  I imagined serenading the girl of my dreams with it when I became a big boy capable of sowing my seed somewhere where it might take root.

Susequently, I never forgot the words.

When I met Bunny, after I’d grown out of my awkwardness:

Well… okay.  Maybe not.  Anyway, I sang the song to Bunny in some moments where the situation called for it and while all the words in the song rang true… it didn’t pack the punch that I felt it could.

Only until just recently am I beginning to understand why I’ve carried this song around in my head for so many years.  I sing it to DLG in her room under the cover of darkness before she drifts off to sleep each and every night.  Let me tell you… every word… packs the punch I’d hoped it would all those years ago when I decided to memorize it:

If I could bottle this up I could make a million
I could sell everybody around
On what I been feeling
‘Cause it’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face
A song in your heart after one little taste
Folks couldn’t get enough
If I could bottle this up.

If I could take your kiss
And twist it into liquid form
And melt it with the way I felt
Here in your arms
Sprinkle in a twinkle or two from your eyes
A dab of this fabulous feeling inside
I could really rake in the bucks
If I could bottle this up.

If I could bottle this up
I could make a million
I could sell everybody in town
What I been feeling
Cause it’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face
A song in your heart after one little taste
Folks couldn’t get enough
If I could bottle this up.

Well I can see it now
People knocking down my door
Til I could get it on the shelf
Of the local department store
Nothing they sell would sell as fast
Even if they threw in a time hourglass
Folks would just eat it up
If I could bottle this up.

If I could bottle this up
I could make a million
I could sell everybody in town
What I been feeling
Cause it’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face
A song in your heart after one little taste
Folks couldn’t get enough
If I could bottle this up.

Folks just couldn’t get enough
Man they would just eat it up
It really would be too much
If I could bottle this up…

While I believe Mr. Paul Overstreet wrote this song to be a love song directed at wives, girlfriends, etc. I’ve adopted it in an entirely different manner than what he intended and what I had intended to do with it all those years ago.

Nothing I can say can better summarize the feelings I have for my daughter than what this song says.  It is true.  If I could bottle up the joy she brings me… I would be a very rich man.

This message brought to you from a real sentimental daddy at the moment and a sucker for those big blue eyes.

14 responses to “If I Could Bottle This Up

  1. There is nothing like a Daddy’s love for his little girl! I know just what you mean. My little girl turned 5 yesterday, and it was just an amazing feeling. I’m so proud of her, and I totally understand you’re feelings about your song.

  2. I hear you and know exactly what you mean. There’s just something different between a daddy and his little girl that clicks with stuff like this.

    I got news for you btw, doesn’t matter how old she is, how much she drives you crazy, how little she wants to be with you at the moment the hormones kick in – she’ll always be your little girl. Mine’s 11 and is growing up, but there’s still that ‘thing’ that will always make her say ‘Daddy’ in that way that melts your heart every time.

  3. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww….

  4. I love hearing my girls say “Daddy”, no matter what the sentence is – “Grandma, look! I’m biting Daddy’s finger off!” 😉

  5. Wow, that is a beautiful post. What a great dad.

  6. I love watching my little girl and her Daddy. There is something special there that you just can’t beat.

  7. Only real men can ‘admit’ this. And Paul Overstreet? Totally wanted my future husband to sing his songs to me!

  8. Well, I was all set to make fun of your birthday pie because, seriously. But then this was so sweet and touching I couldn’t bring myself to mock your birthday pie. Aww.

    But really, birthday pie?

    😉

  9. When I listen to songs, I rarely get the original meaning. It’s good that we can pluck out different meanings and graft them onto our own lives. Good songs should be able to do that. I can’t think of any off hand, but I remember a few times listening to songs and thinking how appropriate it was to my life just to find out later that the writer intended something completely different. I have no idea who Paul Overstreet is. I’m going to have to YouTube him now.

  10. Pingback: Buy Facebook Fans

  11. Paul Overstreet is probably one of the most successful country/western songwriters ever, fyi. I’ve heard tell that he writes practically all of Randy Travis’ songs. If you don’t listen to c/w, of course, it’s irrelevant. Not sure if he records anymore, but that song is one of his best, no doubt.

    And btw, this post of very, very nice. But I LIKED “Hands to War”.

Leave a Reply

