Christmas Break: I’m Taking One


Sometimes I like to pretend that this is a really “high traffic” website/blog and I’m a highly followed/sought after Z-list celebrity who commands the kind of respect that transforms their fans to openly sobbing, shivering lifeless masses of uncooked, limp turkey gizzards… but alas I am not.

So… this post is written in such a way to make it seem as though I’m the Justin Bieber of the blogosphere and you all are my sobbing, shivering lifeless masses of uncooked, limp turkey gizzards hanging on every word I type.

“Hey there.  I’m kind.  I’m sensitive.  I like to wear high-top shoes and barely be able to see through my hair.  I’m awesome yet have not undergone the turmoils of puberty yet so time will tell on how I look after all that.  Who are you?”

“AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I THINK I PEED MY PANTS!!!   I LOVE YOUR OPINIONS ABOUT KIDS ON LEASHES AND BREASTFEEDING IN PUBLIC!!!  CAN I HAVE YOUR CHEWED UP GUM????

“Sure sweetheart.  Anything for my fans.   You’re what make me who I am!”

“AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HE ACTUALLY RESPONDED TO MY QUESTION!!  I THINK I’M HAVING A BRAIN ANEURYSM!!

Anyway, the purpose of this post is just to let you know that I’m taking a break.  I tend to have an addictive personality with things and with this blog I am no different.  It get’s to a point where I’m actually up until 2AM typing posts and/or letting my car wander into oncoming lanes of traffic while I ponder on things I can do to improve this little slice of heaven you’re reading.  I’m not really sure why I “addict” myself to certain things… perhaps it’s the potential in this blogging thing to eventually get paid by somebody!  Not for blogging per se… but for writing in general.  This blog helps me hone my skill, get my name out there and meet cool people like all you guys.

I just need a breather and I can’t think of a better time to do it during my favorite time of year: Christmas.  Christmas while I was growing up was good… not great.  Most of the time I’d mark up the JCPenny gift catalogue with a highlighter and post-it notes only to find on Christmas day I’d received nothing I’d wanted, but rather things my father picked out that would “teach me something”.

Now, as a father to a two-year-old and husband to a smokin’ hot wife, I make the damn rules around here and everyone gets what they ask for… and a little more.

While I chose to take some time off, I also chose to do some things to keep your Papa K interest peaked:

  1. I’ll use it to possibly upgrade the site.  I bought my own URL a while back so I’m ready to get creative with the backdrop.

  2.Also, while I’m on winter break, I will be doing some guest posting.  If you want to know when those will be then follow me on Twitter or “like” my Facebook page.  I’m a Twitter and Facebook junkie so if you’ve ever got a question for me then you’ve got a good chance I’ll respond on one or the other.  Or… if you don’t have either Twitter or Facebook feel free to email me at papak4324@live.com and I’ll put you on my email list.

   3.  I plan on posting ONE post during my break regarding Jackon, the young man I wrote about a little while back who died from a form of brain cancer, and my quest to raise some money this Christmas in search for  a cure to the cancer that took him so early.  So be on the look out for that.

In closing, I ain’t the “Justin Bieber of the blogosphere” unfortunately… I’m just “some dude” who has “another blog” on the “internet” who wants to take a “couple weeks” off to enjoy “the” Christmas holiday.  I want you to know this in case some of you concerned fans out there might think I went off and lost myself in the Rocky Mountains or something.

Thanks for being my bloggy buddies.  Talk to you all very soon!

23 responses to “Christmas Break: I’m Taking One

  1. I’m heartbroken and will anxiously await your return….

    later dude!

    • Thanks dude! It’s nice that a tough motorcycle bro like yourself can be so in touch with his feelings and whatnot.

      *sob*

  2. That’s why I line up posts ahead of time so I can sit back and write posts. Enjoy your break, boy musician wannabe. 😉

    Psst…I am now following you on Twitter.

  3. Alas…I will be the only one up at 2am checking facebook and bloggy land for new posts.

    Wait….er, um….nursing the baby….

    Have a fantastic Christmas. 🙂

  4. This is too funny PapaK! Last night I was just telling my friend about the leash post and the breastfeeding post, I come to your blog this morning to get the link to send to her and what do you know? They are right here for me to do that! Its almost like you knew…are you a spy PapaK? Are you listening in on your readers conversations? Hmmm…I’m on to you PapaK…

    • No… I’m not a spy… I’m just really in tune with the Universe, it’s harmony and all that jazz.

      As far as telling your friends about Papa K… YES!! CONTINUE TO DO THAT! MORE!!

  5. I think its important to take a break, and the holidays is a good time to do it.
    See ya soon.

  6. Take a break, you deserve one. I can barely get back into the swing of one post a week on my main blog. The baseball blog suffers terribly the poor thing!

    Enjoy the time off! And Happy Holidays!

  7. Enjoy your break. Have a GREAT Christmas w/ your family and I can’t wait to see you after the holidays!! But be warned, I’m sure I’ll be cruisng you cite, checking out old posts while your taking a break. I have not had the pleasure of reading the Leash or Breast Feeding post!

  8. Before you go, I just want to know one thing. What are your thoughts on the Rangers attempts at resigning Cliff Lee? Do they have chance against the Evil Empire?

    • Absolutely. Their only downside (and I think it’s a good one) is that they don’t want to offer him in upwards of 6 to 7 years. I think they could be competitive in the 4-5 with a following year option. Texas is also close to his home state of Arkansas… I think that’ll play a big part.

      Thanks for reading Dennis!

      • Did you see what the Yankees offered him today? I think that you’re right about the 6 years, and I think since that’s what NY offered, he may be a Yankee soon. I wouldn’t mind seeing my Tigers get involved, but I don’t think they would go the years he wants, so they are out.
        I would also like to ask you a couple of questions about your writing if you don’t mind. Do you have an email I could write to? Thanks man!

  9. Enjoy your break man. Will look forward to your return.

  10. enjoy ur break u deserve it and i look forward to ur return.cheers buddy!!

  11. This is an incredible thing you are doing to honor this little boys memory. The Make A Wish Foundation is incredible. They helped my husbands cousin’s little boy spend his last months living near his grandmother. I know that was an incredible blessing for them both. Bless you for doing this. It really is such a wonderful thing for these kids.

  12. I’ve been considering a break as well. My addictive personality sounds like it might get along well with your addictive personality. You know, Christmas time is the best time to take a break. Everybody is on vacation, not many people are reading blogs anyway, and this is the time of year people tend to drop out of blogging altogether, so if you come back rested, you’ll be one step better than most — who never come back. 🙂 Good luck, man. And, you’re always welcome for a guest post over at my place!

Leave a Reply

