It’s Not You… It’s Me


It’s not you… it’s me.

If you’ve ever had your heart broken then you’ve probably heard the above phrase.  Unfortunately… you’re going to hear it again.

It’s not you… it’s me.

Can we just be friends?

Blogging is a lot of fun.  Unfortunately, it’s more of an avocation than a vocation for me at this point and it doesn’t pay the bills.  I tend to be a perfectionist and the time it takes me to perfect each posting can take me well into the morning hours at times.

For these reasons I’ve decided to take a massive step back at trying to become the worlds most massive blog for the time being.  Additionally, it has and will become and even lower priority over the next several months for the following reasons:

     1.  We finally sold our house (including the giant wine glass) and have signed the dotted line to move into another one.  If you’ve ever moved before you’ll understand the time and effort it takes to move your pile of shit from one place to another.

     2.  Along with my part-time, work-from-home job, I have been fortunate enough to find a freelance opportunity that will pay me to write!  Couple those opportunities together with chasing around a two-year-old and that makes for a pretty full schedule.

     3.  I’m putting a softball team together for the spring.  It’s been over a decade since I’ve been competitive (unless you count rowing or that strong man competition) in ANYTHING!!  I’m finally taking the bull by the horns and putting together my own team.  We’ll play a double-header every Wednesday night for the next several months. 

     4.  Baseball season is almost here.  Last season my Texas Rangers went to the World Series and that is only because I watched every single game that season.  I plan on doing the same this season.

     5.  Bunny has certain “demands”.  This is nothing new but it is the truth.  We need our date nights, our alone time and our time to play with DLG.  By the grace of God himself I have started to do a little cooking and I know that this excites her and takes time from me being able to orchestrate thoughts on a computer screen.

     6.  I’ve been going back to the gym.  I’ve managed to lose about 10 pounds as of this moment and I plan on keeping up the momentum.  I don’t want to waste away into a Slim Jim but I am eager to look like someone on the front cover of Men’s Health.

     7.  I’m having penile enlargement surgery.  I’m kidding.  I was just seeing if you were paying attention.

All of these things just added to the daily struggles I (and I’m sure all of you) deal with… blogging is the weakest link.  While I still plan on keeping my blog updated it won’t be the regular three to four posts you see from me a week.  You’ll be lucky to get that in a month at this point!

I’ll still be around.  I’ll still post occasionally.  I’ll pop in to post unattractive pictures of myself for your amusement at times like this one:

You can still follow me on Facebook and Twitter and submit pictures to my Fanroll if you so desire. 

I can never fully let go of blogging I and hope you can never fully let go of me either.

This isn’t good-bye, but rather… until next time.

I’m just so damn busy.

It’s not you… it’s me.

11 responses to “It’s Not You… It’s Me

  1. Oh. It’s definitely YOU.

    Seriously though – Congrats on the house and “date nights”. What are those anyway?

  2. It’s me, isn’t it? Tell me, you coward! 😉 Til next time.

  3. WTF? Why is everyone I read bailing? Makes me sooooo sad.
    But I get it. Don’t like it but I get it.
    Good luck 🙂

  4. congrats chris on everything. ur time away will just make your (hope) 1 blog a month that more exciting to read. i’ll be watch the rangers this season too just to understand ur tweets haha. cheers!

  5. Good call. Been contemplating that myself recently. Glad to hear you are not giving it up for good though. Will look forward to keeping up with you.

    Congrats on the house too. That is awesome.

  6. Oh, sadness. I so enjoy you! But everything you said is a huge priority and deserves your attention more than us 🙂 Good for you 🙂 Hope we get to read some of that writing you’ll be getting paid to do!

  7. I’m going to miss your regularity. They have stuff for that. I wonder everyday why I blog/post. And I’m pretty disciplined about it…seriously, six days a week sometimes. It, like everything else in my life has become an obsession…as to the writing opportunity, I’m jealous, very jealous…that’s why I post…I’m just hoping that some where, some day, some one will notice me. But, congrats to you on a decisive move in your life…ya gotta do what ya gotta do for you and your.

    Big tear rolling down the cheek of Redneck Latte!

    UP

  8. ps. someone told me recently that I post too often…well, for them anyway…but it’s me, not you.

    UP

  9. It happens to the best of us. Enjoy your time offline!

  10. The hell? I go out of the country for a couple of weeks, and the world is turned upside down. Listen, even if you decide to end this blog, I’m glad I got to know you. And thanks again for the great books!

Leave a Reply

